fbpx

Yoga for Depression as Alzheimer’s Prevention Webinar

Research shows a strong relationship between depression and Alzheimer’s disease. In fact, a history of major depression is a risk factor for later development of Alzheimer’s disease. And those with dementia often develop symptoms of both depression and anxiety. 

Luckily, yoga has been proven to be an effective lifestyle modality to manage depressive symptoms. Amy Weintraub, MFA, C-IAYT will talk about ways in which yoga can protect our brains and shift our moods. We will practice a number of brief and accessible yoga mood-shifters from Amy’s new card deck, Yoga for Your Mood, just released from Sounds True. No mat or previous experience required! 

Please join us on Tuesday, September 28th for this outstanding Webinar on Yoga for Depression as Alzheimer’s Prevention. It will be recorded and sent out after. 

Yoga for Depression as Alzheimer’s Prevention
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET for 60 min
Guest Speaker: Amy Weintraub, MFA, C-IAYT
Host: Kirti Khalsa, ARPF CEO

In this webinar, you will discover:

  • A yoga breathing exercise that activates ventral vagal activity, regulates the autonomic nervous system, and leaves the practitioner feeling calm and alert.
  • A short evidence-based yoga meditation that includes a hand gesture, visual imagery, and a mantra tone that builds confidence, clarity and self-efficacy.
  • The evidence-based biochemical changes in the brain as a result of yoga and meditation so as to explain to patients/clients.
  • Principles of Yoga that pertain to emotional balance and mood regulation.

Our esteemed guest speaker is Amy Weintraub. Amy is the founder of the LifeForce Yoga® Healing Institute, an acclaimed yoga therapist, and a pioneer in the field of yoga and mental health. Author of the best-selling “Yoga for Depression,” the new card deck from Sounds True, “Yoga for Your Mood: 52 Ways to Shift Depression and Anxiety,” and “Yoga Skills for Therapists,” she teaches and guides thousands of practitioners and therapists around the world. Her Silver Nautilus Award winning novel “Temple Dancer” was released in 2020. She thrives in Tucson, Arizona where she mountain bikes, dances, writes, and creates. In 1999, Amy wrote “The Natural Prozac,” Yoga Journal‘s first article addressing yoga and mental health.

This webinar will be recorded and sent to you a few days later. The link for Zoom video access will be sent out in the confirmation email after registration is completed.

Important: Please add admin@arpf.com to your contact list so no communication gets lost in spam.

This webinar is part of ARPF’s fundraising initiative. Your registration fee ensures we can continue our outreach and educational programs. We thank you for supporting our mission.

Recommended Posts