Spiritual Practices and Brain Longevity - Alzheimer's Research & Prevention Foundation

Spiritual Practices and Brain Longevity

Your ARPF is excited to present our next webinar: Spiritual Practices and Brain Longevity®: Imaging Research Revealed. 
 
Your ARPF is the first organization to research meditation and memory. Dr. Dharma and Dr. Newberg began this work years ago and want to share it with you, from its infancy to its future potential.
 
Thursday, March 4th, 2021
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET for 60 min 
Guest Speaker: Andrew B. Newberg, MD
Host: Kirti Khalsa, ARPF CEO
 
 
Our esteemed guest speaker is Andrew B. Newberg, MD, Director of Research at the Marcus Institute of Integrative Health and physician at the Myrna Brind Center at Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia, PA. He is board-certified in internal medicine and nuclear medicine.
 
Dr. Newberg’s research now largely focuses on how brain function is associated with various mental states– in particular, religious and mystical experiences. In fact, he has written several highly acclaimed books on this subject. His research has included brain scans of people in prayer, meditation, rituals, and trance states, as well as surveys of people’s spiritual experiences and attitudes. Dr. Newberg has also evaluated the relationship between religious or spiritual phenomena and health, and the effect of meditation on memory, particularly with regards to the effects of Kirtan Kriya meditation. 
 
Dr. Newberg has also used neuroimaging research projects to study aging and dementia, Parkinson’s disease, epilepsy, depression, and other neurological and psychiatric disorders. He is a pioneer in the neurological study of religious and spiritual experiences, a field known as “neurotheology.”
 
Dr. Newberg is the author of many landmark books such as How God Changes Your Brain, Why We Believe What We Believe, Words Can Change Your Brain, and the latest, The Rabbi’s Brain.
 
In this webinar, you will discover:
  • How brain imaging helps us combat aging
  • The way spiritual practices affect our brain health
  • The meaning behind the groundbreaking brain scans on Kirtan Kriya and memory
This webinar will be recorded and sent to you a few days later. The link for Zoom video access will be sent out in the confirmation email after registration is completed.
 
Thursday, March 4th, 2021
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET for 60 min 
Guest Speaker: Andrew Newberg, MD
Host: Kirti Khalsa, ARPF CEO
 
This webinar is part of ARPF’s fundraising initiative. Your registration fee ensures we can continue our outreach and educational programs. Please consider giving $10 or more if you are able. We thank you for supporting our mission.
 
Recommended Posts